The Capsule Wardrobe (part 1)

Is it time for me, as I approach my 50th Birthday to finally crack, having a capsule wardrobe?

I have tried occassionaly over the years, and have never actually managed it!  Usually due to there being gaps that are expensive to fill.

Can I do it this year?  with the added challanged of being part of the Love What You Wear project which means I am buying no new clothes until November.

my wardrobe

my wardrobe

The rest of my clothes are in a bit of a muddle since moving.  I shall gather them together, and have a proper look at what I already own.  You can follow my progress on here, I plan to post my progress every Wednesday.

I have been researching other people’s ideas about the capsule wardrobe, I’ll share some of their ideas in my next posts.

I will consider what my version of The Capsule Wardrobe will look like, taking into account my current life style:  I run my business from home and also spent lots of time out walking and boating with my husband.

Would you like to achieve a capsule wardrobe that works for you?  Or do you like having lots of clothes to choose from?  The people I work with find they ‘have nothing to wear’ despite bursting rails full of clothes.  Once I have helped them to declutter their wardrobes, they can see what they have got, that actually fits, suits their shape and their current lifestyle.  We often uncover lost gems too! I’m looking forward to some comments from those of you who want to defend having lots of clothes, or just can’t resisit a ‘bargain’.

8 thoughts on “The Capsule Wardrobe (part 1)

  1. Joelle – have done some work on my wardrobe over the last 12 months – i just can’t bring myself to part with some stuff. Was raised not to waste so throwing anything away gets difficult as its against my values. However i know have a sewing machine so hoping i will gain the skills to upcycle and recycle some stuff

    Hoping to join you for the journey

  2. I admire your commitment to stop buying clothes for months ahead. It would be nice if we all had more respect for what we own.

Leave a Reply

