The Colour Tote and one Pair of Jeans

To update my last weekend post, here is a photo of the colourful tote I made.  OK so in the end it has very little to do with the bold solid coloured totes in The Times Magazine article, but I have used up some fabric lurking in my stash of fabric to recycle, and the colour will certainly brighten up my wardrobe.

Image

The pretty panel on the front is from a 70’s linen place mat, the lilac a remnant and the lining is left over curtain lining.  The handles are scraps of blue linen plus some matching bias binding.  I prefer darker handles, as they do seem to get grubby.

Take one Pair of Jeans

I have taken up the challenge set by Jen on her blog My Make Do and Mend Year.  She wants to see how many different things you can make from just one pair of old jeans.

How many things do you think I could make from one pair of jeans?

I got off to a great start with Vivienne’s suggestion of a peg bag.  I have been meaning to make one for months, but really didn’t want to waste good fabric or spend much time on it, I have better things to do.

I simply chopped off the legs, turned them inside out & cut the insides of the pockets off (you put the pegs in the pockets).  Pinned and sewed the bottom edge.  I used 2 rows of stitching for strength and a good curve in the corners (don’t want pegs stuck in corners)

I turned them back out the right way, inserted the trouser hanger, pinned the waistband edges together and zig zagged along the top edge, leaving a gap so the hanger sat neatly.

Should I do an illustrated tutorial for that?

Now that I have used the best bit, what to do with the rest of this pair of jeans?  Any suggestions?

3 thoughts on “The Colour Tote and one Pair of Jeans

  1. My friend made me a pull/chew tug for Ziggy from a pair of jeans by cutting into strips knotting one end, plaiting then knotting the other end – more robust than most you’d get in the shops but probably use most of the two legs you have left.

Leave a Reply

