My New Mac

I’m really pleased with my upcycled mac!

I purchased this M&S mac for £3.50 in the charity shop.  It probably dates from the 80’s, it’s fairly classic, light weight and soft.  A size 10, and what you might call a relaxed fit.  It had dirty marks near the hem, which didn’t worry me as I knew I’d be chopping quite a bit off the bottom!

before
before

First I unpicked the sleeves and removed them with their linings.  I labeled them left and right (I didn’t want to end up with back to front sleeves).  I then chopped 25cm off the bottom of the coat.  I used a coat pattern as a guide and recut the arm holes, taking in the side seams about 6cm each side too.  I put the whole lot back together and re-hemmed.

Here it is all ready for my summer Capsule Wardrobe.  What do you think?

13 thoughts on “My New Mac

  1. Love it! Very clever and looks wonderful. I am hanging on to SO many stuck in the 80s clothes that need sorting…..

    Shows my mind’s not in tune with sewing and upcycling though, as when I saw the title of the post I thought you’d got a new computer!

  2. I love this Mac! great buy.
    I hope you don’t mind but I’m including a link to your blog in one of my posts.
    Nora X

  3. Pingback: Upcycled Fashion |

Leave a Reply

