Summer Dress upcycle

I bought this rather nice Eastex dress in the local charity shop.  I had been looking at it for a while, put off by the pleated skirt and the fact it was a bit big on me.  The trouble was I rather liked the collar & the colour, I would describe it as coral? (looks a bit more pink in my photos)

coral dress Before

I owned something similar in 1989, also from a second-hand shop, so probably not even in fashion then!

I detached the skirt and pressed all the pleats out.  I cut out a new, shorter flared skirt from the fabric.  I created darts to the waist both front and back on the top to make it fit better.  I re-attached the skirt, and put a zip in the side seam.

I would have liked to remove the sleeves, but the style of them means the arm hole is very low.  I still might tackle this later.

coral dress Before

Here it is with a Jigsaw cardigan, bought last year in a charity shop.

coral dress After

I would like to change the buttons, but haven’t found anything I like yet.  Maybe some nice creamy mother of pearl buttons would work?

The next question is, will it make it into my New Summer Capsule Wardrobe?  Find out on Wednesday!

8 thoughts on “Summer Dress upcycle

Leave a Reply

