Upcycled Red Jacket – a second bag and lots of Butterflies

Having finally got on and finished the bag made from the sleeves and front pocket.  I got inspired to use up the rest of the jacket, with a ‘lapel bag’.  These are more complicated to plan.  I laid out the lapels, placing some white paper around the edges to see how it would work ….

Lapel bag plan

I then cut out a basic bag shape, and sewed the 2 lapel pieces together (under the lower lapel)  I had  enough of the other from with a pocket to use for the back.  I then made a handle from a back panel.

I have used up all the left over fabric to make some pretty butterflies, I think these will be brooches?  Any other suggestions?

You can make your own upcycled bag with me In Burton on 28th September or Brigg on 19th October

Bags and butterflies heading to my Esty Shop very soon.

3 thoughts on “Upcycled Red Jacket – a second bag and lots of Butterflies

Leave a Reply

