Does a new excerise class = new clothes?

I started my first ever exercise class back in October.  I am pleased to say I am loving Pilates, mainly due to a brilliant teacher, Emma of Fitness4U.

Now, for lots of people this would be a good excuse to go shopping for suitable clothing to wear.  Not for me!  partly because I was still in my year of The Love What You Wear Project, buying no new clothes in an effort to be more environmentally friendly and partly because I don’t like parting with my money unnecessarily.

It took me a few weeks to get it completely right, but I did manage to kit myself out from my existing wardrobe.  As you may know, I like walking, so have some good walking kit, this provided me with black thermal leggings, these are lovely and comfy to wear for exercise, and I am pleased they are getting more use, than the occasional winter hill walk.

I tried different tops from my technical walking kit, the thermal top and my favourite base layer, before discovering that my, hardly ever worn, winter mid-layer is perfect, it’s long enough and loose enough not to move when I do stretches.

Finally, the exercise mat:  in the loft I found the foam camping mat, the children used to use, it’s a bit thicker than a yoga mat, but works perfectly well.

There will be no photos of me wearing my exercise gear, you will be pleased to know.  So here are some gerbera instead.

gerbera

Leave a Reply

