Time to Sew

 

My Uni. work is all done and handed in!  That’s the first year of my Textiles Design (BA Hons) complete.

Time to get the sewing machine out:

I bought an altered silk blouse in the Poorboy Vintage Outlet in Hull for just £2 sometime ago.  Just because the colour was perfect with my favourite silk scarf.  I didn’t even think about whether or not it would fit me!!!  Turns out it was too small, I thought I could probably insert some lace in the side seams, like I did with my cream vintage M&S blouse.  Then I noticed that the teeshirting yarn I had dyed was just the right colour.  I joined three strips back together, using grey zig zag stitch, then zig zagged it into the side seams.  Now I can wear the silk blouse with my cream jacket and noa noa silk scarf.

While I had the sewing machine out I mended my little patchwork bag too.  I have a long list of things I want to do this summer, next on the sewing list is a dress, from scratch.  My SiL found a lovely dress pattern by Burda, which I have said I could make for her.  I thought I’d practice by making one for myself first.

Leave a Reply

